Annual elections of SCCI being held today

September 14, 2015 Off By Web Desk

SIALKOT: The annual elections of Sialkot Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCI) will be held today (Wednesday) here at SCCI. Both groups the ruling Ittehad Founders’ Group and opposition’s Democratic Founders’ Group were claiming to win the polls of SCCI here.

The electioneering remained in full swing among the Sialkot’s leading business tycoons.

SCCI Election Commissioner Sheikh Naveed Iqbal told that now, the stage was set to hold the polls in free, fair, impartial and peaceful atmosphere there at SCCI. The polling will start from 09:00 am and will continue upto 05:00 pm under the supervision of an independent Election Commission of SCCI.

The polling for SCCI’s Executive Committee Corporate Class five seats will be held today (Wednesday) in which as many as 702 registered voters will elect five members of this class. Ruling Ittehad Founders’ Group has fielded Majid Raza Bhutta, Abdul Ghafur Malik, Saad Bin Imtiaz, Mian Imran Akbar and Shehzada Zeeshan Zeb Mirza for Corporate Class five seats against opposition’s Suhail Khawar Mir, Suhail Akbar Awan, Ashfaq Ahmed, Asad Siddique and Faisal Jamshaid Malik (Democratic Founders Group).

The polling for SCCI Executive Committee Associate Class will be held on Thursday, tomorrow (Sep 17, 2015), in which as many as 1779 registered will also elect five members of Associate Class. Ruling Ittehad Founders Group has nominated Maj (Rtd) Mansur Ahmed, Adnan Arshad Sethi, Mian Babar Ali, Ashir Elahi and Umer Khalid against opposition’s Mirza Ayaz Baig, Mohammad Iqbal Asad, Zarar Ahmed Dar, Rehan Bin Tahir Mughal and Mohammad Tahir Siddique.