District: (15 newly elected independent councilors join PML-N)

December 12, 2015 Off By Web Desk

SIALKOT: In Daska, all the 15 newly elected independent councilors have joined the PML-N during an important meeting of the newly elected councilors held here at Daska on Sunday.

Now, the stage is set for PML-N to clinch the slots of Chairman and Vice Chairman of Daska Municipal Committee with majority after the joining of PML-N by all the independent councilors here in Daska.

MNA Sahibzada Syed Iftikharul Hassan Shah presided over this important meeting. President PML-N Daska city Mohammad Afzal Mansha welcomed the independents into the PML-N.

During the meeting all the local independent candidates expressed full confidence in the policies of the PML-N government and they announced to join PML-N. These councilors were those who were denied the party tickets by local PML-N leadership but they contested the Dec 05, 2015 LB polls as independent candidates against the PML-N candidates and won.

The PML-N and independent candidates had won 15 seats each out of total 30 seats of general councilors in Daska Municipal Committee in these LB polls. Those independent councilors who joined PML-N are: Zafar Iqbal Dar, Mian Muzaffar Iqbal, Mirza Mohammad Yasir, Khawaja Atif Raza, Mohammad Ayub Butt, Javaid Iqbal Cheema, Asad Ullah Behgal, Mohammad Rafique Cohan, Ch. Waqas Bilal, Ch. Abid Ali, Mian Sadique Mehar, Rana Mushtaq Ahmed, Ch. Gulfam Sahi and Ashfaq Ahmed Ansari.

Addressing the meeting, MNA Sahibzada Syed Iftikharul Hassan Shah said that the PML-N has left all the other main political parties far behind after winning the LB polls, saying that the PML-N government firmly believes in the promotion of true and durable democracy and democratic norms and values.

He said the PML-N was the only main political party in the country, which had ever ensured the supremacy of the constitution in the country, besides, promoting democracy in party ranks as well.