Govt working to provide maximum facilities to overseas Pakistanis: Senate told

November 3, 2015 Off By Web Desk

ISLAMABAD: The Senate was informed on Wednesday that the government is working to provide maximum facilities at Pakistan’s missions abroad to the overseas Pakistanis.

Minister for Commerce Khurram Dastgir Khan informed the House during question hour that out of 115 Pakistani missions abroad, 61 have the facility to issue passports to expatriates. He said such facilities are also being extended to 30 more missions shortly.

He said there are some irregularities in issuance of passports at Pakistani Embassy in Saudi Arabia. He said the government has taken very strict notice of it and inquiry will be conducted into the matter and the results will be shared with the House.

He said Pakistan has conducted a spirited campaign in support of our candidature for United Nations Human Rights Commission. He was winding up the discussion on two similar adjournment motions of Saleem Mandviwala and Sassui Palijo regarding failure of Pakistan in re-election as member of the United Nations Human Rights Council.

He said Prime Minister’s Advisor on Foreign Affairs written letters to the Foreign Ministers of others countries to seek support for membership of Council. He said high level meetings were used to seek support in this regard.

The Minister said Pakistan had the support of 120 members which is sufficient for Pakistan to be elected as member of the Council but regretted that all the votes were not polled. However, he said, Pakistan bagged 105 votes in the elections.

He said Pakistan is currently member of 14 bodies of the United Nations and loosing on one forum will not rocked the voice of Pakistan in the world body. He said Pakistan’s relations with other countries are strengthening including that of Russia.

He said Pakistan is an ardent advocate of Kashmir cause and will continue to raise the issue forcefully at UN bodies including the Human Rights Council.

Earlier, Saleem Mandviwala, Sherry Rehman, Sassui Palijo, Farhatullah Babar, Tahir Hussain Mashhadi, Usman Khan Kakar, Kamil Ali Agha, Shibli Faraz, took part in the discussion. The House will now meet today (Thursday).