NA: (NA Committee on Cabinet Secretariat approves PSDP proposals of CADD)

March 8, 2016 Off By Web Desk

ISLAMABAD: Meeting of the National Assembly’s Standing Committee on Cabinet Secretariat was held here in Parliament House on Wednesday with Rana Mohammad Hayat Khan in the chair to discuss /scrutinize budgetary proposals relating to the Public Sector Development Program (PSDP) of Capital Administration and Development Division (CADD) for the financial year 2016-2017.

The Committee discussed and approved PSDP of Capital Administration and Development Division (CADD) for financial year 2016-17 amounting to Rs.4304.898 million to be spent on 82 schemes pertaining to Health, Education, Rural Community Development and Special Education Sectors in the Islamabad Capital Territory.

The Committee also directed the Secretary (CADD) to present the inquiry report to the Committee regarding substandard construction work carried out in the Pakistan Institute of Medical Science (PIMS) along with the report about the disciplinary proceedings against all held responsible.

The Committee approved the “The Special Economic Zones (Amendment Bill, 2015) without any amendment. The Committee termed the establishment of Special Economic Zones, a step forward for encouraging industrialization in the country.

The Committee was informed that the purpose of amendment in Special Economic Zones Act, 2012 was to encourage and facilitate domestic and foreign investors to invest in manufacturing sectors of Pakistan offering them special exemption and incentives leading to reduce cost of doing business with efficient infrastructure.

The Committee pended further discussion on “The Plant Breeders Rights (Amendment) Bill, 2015” and “The Compulsory Blood Test of the Relatives of the Thalassaemia Patients Bill, 2015” till its next meeting.

The Committee directed the Ministry of Law and CADD to finalize “The Disabled Persons (Employment And Rehabilitation) (Amendment) Bill” moved by Sahibzada Tariq Ullah, MNA keeping in view the subjects devolved to the provinces consequent to the 18th Constitutional Amendment within 15 days.

The meeting was attended by MNAs; Sardar Mansab Ali Dogar, Malik Ibrar Ahmed, Sardar Mohammad Irfan Dogar, Ms. Parveen Masood Bhatti, Mrs. Seema Mohiuddin Jameeli, Mr. Asad Umar, Ms. Nafeesa Inayatullah Khan Khattak, Moulvi Agha Mohammad, Sahibzada Tariq Ullah, Secretary Cabinet Division, Secretary CADD and other senior officers of the concerned departments.