PRU Pakistan National Women 7s Rugby C’ship begins Dec 19

December 16, 2015 Off By Web Desk

Karachi: Pakistan Rugby Union (PRU) is organizing the first ‘Mera Passion Pakistan National Women 7s Rugby Championship’ from December 19 at Punjab Stadium in Lahore.

This tournament will be the first ever tournament played at national level among women. A total of 12 teams from all over Pakistan will participate in this tournament.

“World Rugby and Asian Rugby Federations are supporting Pakistan Rugby Union to promote the game among women. We are hopeful that we will be able to establish a strong national women 7s team after this tournament which will take part international tournaments as early as next year,” Fawzi Khawaja, President PRU said.

“We already have a large pool of women players, belonging to almost every part of the country. FATA women team will also take part in this tournament which is a very healthy sign for the promotion of the game among women,” he said.

In Pool A, Samundri Crabs, Sports Sciences Rugby Club and Kot Addu Women Club are placed.

Pool B comprises of Lahore College (LCWU), Rawalpindi Rams and FATA Women Rugby Team.

Pool C consists of Baghbanpura Club, Lahore, Sargodha Eagles and Lodhran Spartans. Samundri Stars, LRFC for Women and Lodhran Chakhimta constitutes Pool D.

PRU Manager Education and training Syed Moazzam Ali Shah has been appointed as Tournament Director. Head coach Shakeel Ahmad will observe performances of players and at the conclusion of the tournament will shortlist players for the national side.