Sports: Cricket: PBCC announces team for Blind Cricket World Cup

October 14, 2014 Off By Web Desk

Karachi: Pakistan Blind Cricket Council (PBCC) Thursday announced team and officials for next month’s Blind Cricket World Cup, which will be held in Cape Town, South Africa.

Zeeshan Abbasi has been named to lead the national team in the important event. The Blind Cricket World Cup will run from November 26 to December 8.

Pakistan will be the defending champion of the tournament. Pakistan defeated arch-rival India in the final of the third edition of the tournament back in 2006 in Islamabad.

Apart from Pakistan, India, Australia, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and host South Africa will also feature in the event. The tournament will be played on one-day format.

PBCC Chairman Syed Sultan Shah said that tough competition is expected from all teams. “But our team can defend the title and I am hopeful for that to happen.”


Zafar Iqbal, Mohammad Idrees Salim, Sajid Nawaz, Aamir Ashfaq, Mohammad Taufeeq, Mohmmad Ayaz, Anees Javed, Nisar Ali, Badr Muneer, Mohammad Afzal, Haroon Khan, Mohammad jameel, Mohammad Akram, Israr Hasan, Tariq Samuel. Reserves: Mohammad Waqas, Mohammad Arsalan, Irfan Majeed.


Syed Salman Tariq Bukhari (Team Manager), Nafees Ahmed (Coach), Tahir Mahmood Butt (Assistant Coach), Masood Jan (Trainer), Asif Azeem (Media Manager).

The post Sports: Cricket: PBCC announces team for Blind Cricket World Cup appeared first on Pakistan Press International.