Sports: Rugby: PRU announces Rugby squad for Asian Games

September 17, 2014 Off By Web Desk

Karachi: Pakistan Rugby Union (PRU) Selection Committee announced Pakistan national rugby team for Asian Games Rugby Sevens event on Thursday. The Selection Committee of PRU consists of Rizwan Malik and Arif Saeed. Sahir Riaz, an experienced player has been named captain.

A total of twelve players have been selected, who will be accompanied by three officials for the tournament. Pakistan rugby team will leave for Incheon (South Korea) on September 28.

Pakistan team consists of Umar Islam Butt, Ahmad Waseem, Ayub Zafar, Daud Gill, Nasir Mehmood, Mohammad Basit, Khalid Mehmood, Mohammad Tahir Rafi, Tahir Yaqoob, Mohammad Javed and Mian Hamza.

Rizwan Malik will be the coach of the team while Haji Anwar has been appointed manager. Doctor Mohammad Hashim will also accompany the team as physio.

Pakistan has been placed in Pool B alongside Hong Kong, China and Philippines. A total of twelve teams will be taking part in the rugby event of Asian Games.

Pakistan will play its first match against Hong Kong, followed by their encounter neighbours China and later Philippines.

The post Sports: Rugby: PRU announces Rugby squad for Asian Games appeared first on Pakistan Press International.