Thailand to host Women’s World T20 Qualifier in Nov, Dec

June 6, 2015 Off By Web Desk

Dubai: The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier will take place in Thailand from November 28 to December 5 later this year.

The top-two teams from the eight participating countries will meet reigning champion Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies in the World T20 2016 in India.

Hosts Thailand will be joined by China, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Zimbabwe which all qualified for the tournament through regional tournaments. Bangladesh and Ireland will also have to go through qualification after finishing ninth and 10th in the previous World T20 held in Bangladesh.

The eight teams will be divided into two groups with the top two from each group moving to the trophy semi-finals. The teams contesting the trophy final will qualify for the World T20 2016. The 20 matches in the tournament will be equally shared between the Thailand Cricket Ground and the Asian Institute of Technology Ground in Bangkok.

This is the second edition of the Women’s World T20 Qualifier, after the 2013 event in Dublin jointly won by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, who qualified for the Women’s World T20 2014 along with Ireland.