World Cricket League Division 4 begins June 21 in Singapore

Dubai:,,, The six teams participating in Pepsi ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 4 are all looking forward to progress to next tier Division 3 ahead of the start of the event, which commences in Singapore on June 21.

During the week-long tournament, Italy, Denmark, Jersey, Malaysia, Oman and host Singapore will lock horns for the chance to progress to WCL Div. 3, which will be played in Uganda from October 26.

As the teams start to arrive, their focus will be to acclimatize to the tropical conditions as quickly as possible.

Host Singapore will be looking to seize the opportunity after missing out on promotion from the previous WCL Div.4 event on net run rate.

Singapore also hosted the latest edition of the ACC Elite League earlier this month, where it finished on top to secure promotion into the ACC Premier League. It will be looking to continue its good form and further its success by gaining another promotion.

Neighbouring rival Malaysia enters this tournament after recently winning promotion from WCL Div. 5, in which it came second behind Jersey.

The other side to be promoted from WCL Div. 5, Jersey, also feels confident after a flawless performance in that tournament, held in Malaysia earlier this year, where it did not lose a match. Jersey will be looking to count this tournament as another step in its climb upwards.

At the other end of the spectrum, Italy and Oman are appearing in WCL Div. 4 after being relegated from WCL Div. 3 last year, and both will be looking to bounce straight back.

Denmark, who, like Singapore, missed out on promotion in the last WCL Div. 4 event, will be looking to learn from its previous experiences against the leading Associate and Affiliate teams.

The tournament kicks off Saturday, June 21 with Italy and Oman looking to stamp their authority early on at the Singapore Cricket Club. At the same time, the two teams promoted from WCL Div. 5, Jersey and Malaysia, will battle it out at the India Association, and host Singapore will face off against Denmark at the Kallang.

The post World Cricket League Division 4 begins June 21 in Singapore appeared first on Pakistan Press International.