Election Tribunal hears 37 appeals

April 11, 2013 Off By Web Desk

Karachi: The election tribunal in the Sindh High Court (SHC) on Thursday heard 37 appeals against the rejection and acceptance of nomination papers, as it accepted the nomination papers of 21 appellants and dismissed 3 applications.

The tribunal headed by Justice Faisal Arab, issued notice to the Election Commission of Pakistan and respective returning officers on appeals of former president Gen (retd) Pervez Musharraf and 13 others.

Musharraf filed an appeal against the rejection of his nomination paper from NA-250 in Karachi. Counsel appearing on behalf of the Musharraf submitted that returning officer rejected nomination papers of Musharraf on the fact that his client being chief of army staff and president of Pakistan breached the constitution and also detained the Judges.

He stated that the respondent RO relied on flimsy grounds without any concrete and substantial piece of evidence against him. He stated that he was presumed to be innocent till he was proven guilty by a court of law, adding that there was no question of his being proven guilty as he was not still tried in any court of law.

PPP leader and National Assembly Speaker Fehmida Mirza has filed appeal challenging the nomination papers of her rivals belonging to Pakistan Muslim League-Functional candidates Bibi Yasmeen Shah and her spouse Syed Ali Bux Shah (Pappu Shah) from Badin’s National Assembly constituency NA-225 and provincial assembly constituency PS-57. She alleged that both his rivals have fake graduation degrees, and prayed to court to set aside the decision of the returning officers, who accepted their nominations.

The tribunal rejected the objections of Fehmida Mirza against Bibi Yasmeen Shah and upheld the decision of returning officer. However, it issued notice to the respondents in her plea against Pappu Shah.

The tribunal also upheld the decision of the returning officers in pleas of Muhammad Sadiq from PS-91 and Abdul Aziz Memon and dismissed their appeals.

Meanwhile, the bench issued notices to the Election Commission of Pakistan and the ROs concerned in the election appeals filed by Syed Mumtaz Ali Shah from PS-65, Haji Muhammad Islam Qureshi from PS-78, Muhammad Asghar Jan from PS-97, Khalida Arshad Ali Sheikh from PS-127, Muhammad Naeem from PS-128, Naureen Naz from PS-130, Muhammad Ayub Rajput from PS-49, Raja Arif Sultan Minhas from NA-251, Sadiq Ali Memon from NA-237.

The bench accepted pleas of Gul Hassan Rajput, Khan Muhammad Sarohi, Muhammad Naeem, Yousuf Rehman, Hamid Hussain Qureshi, Abdul Aziz Memon, Arbab Ali Chandio, Abdul Aziz Memon, Aziz ur Rehman.