Karachi Club Bridge Congress: Deuces dominates Bridge in Karachi

December 2, 2013 Off By Web Desk

KARACHI: Quite contrary to their earlier clean-wash win in the Karachi Gymkhana Gold Cup, Deuces had to work hard for the completion of hat-trick in Karachi Bridge circle.

It was their third successive win, and fourth for Abdul Muqeet and Anwer Kizilbash. Deuces yet annexed another major title Karachi Club Bridge Congress Team Event last evening.

When the last round began, Deuces faced GFQ and Data Steel faced another fancied team Giants. It was quite a dramatic finish, when only two boards remained to decide the fate, at this stage, Deuces was winning by 0.15 V.P. Both teams Deuces 76.75 as against 76.60 of Data Steel, but Deuces got a clean swing on the last board which raised their score to 83.70 but Giants not allowed Data Steel by their excellent defence to take any undue advantage.

Data Steel finished second with 78.54 Victory Points to their kitty. In this ordeal, Deuces won five out of six matches, from Giants 13.45, Karachi Club 17.08, Data Steel 17.56, AKB 13.71 and finally GFQ 16.38 lost fourth round match to star-studded Allana 6.03. Deuces comprised A. Muqeet, Wajahat Suri, Anwer Kizilbash, Farhat Abbas and Tanvir Mazahir.

Data Steel restricted to second position having 78.54 V.P. to their credit. Having old stars like Pervaiz Mirza, Rashid Jaffer and on-form players like Hasan Askari, Tariq Rasheed Khan, Gulzar Bilal and Shakeel Chandna, Data Steel won four matches, 20.00 from Zia Tigers, 16.73 from Dynamite, 15.15 from Invincible and 14.22 from Giants, drawn on level terms with AKB and lost to Deuces.

Another star-studded team Allana occupied third berth having a score of 76.54 collected by winning four matches and losing two.

Allana having services of Kemal Shoaib, Tahir Masood, Javed Ahmed Miran, Rashidul Ghazi, Sarfraz Khan and A. R. Allana. The team put up spirited fight, but they lacked the shine being out of competitive bridge since long. Giants finished fourth having 72.92 V.P. to their credit. The team comprised Ziaullah Baig, Hamed Mohiuddin, Mubashir Puri, Masood Mazhar and Shahin Iqbal.