LB elections, shddule announced for Sialkot & Narowal districts

September 22, 2015 Off By Web Desk

SIALKOT: The Election Commission has announced the schedule for holding local bodies elections in both neighbouring Sialkot and Narowal districts, declaring that the LB polls will be held in these two districts on December 03,2015.

According to the local EC officials in Sialkot, the number of union councils of Sialkot Municipal Corporation would be 24, while the total union councils would be 124 in district. They said that there would be three municipal committees in Daska, Sambrial and Pasrur, having total 76 wards. Municipal Committee Daska would have 30 wards, Municipal Committee Sambrial would have 20 wards while Municipal Committee Pasrur would have 26 wards.

On the other hand, there was no municipal corporation in the LB structure of Narowal district. According to the Sialkot EC officials, there would be total 98 union councils in Narowal district, having total 55 wards in all the three municipal committees there. Municipal Committee Narowal would have 25 wards, Municipal Committee Zafarwal would have 11 wards and Municipal Committee Shakargarh would have 19 wards.

On September 28, 2015, the concerned returning officers (ROs) would display the public notices regarding LB polls in both Sialkot and Narowal districts. The aspirant candidates would submit their nomination papers from October 3 to 7, 2015 before the concerned ROs. The scrutiny of these nomination papers would be held there from Oct 08 to 13, 2015 by the concerned ROs and the appeals against the acceptance and rejection of the nomination papers would be submitted till October 30, 2015. Candidate could withdraw their nomination papers till Nov 06. The concerned Returning Officers (ROs) would display the final lists of the candidates on November 07, 2015, besides, allotting the electoral symbols to the candidates on the same day. The polling for the LB elections would be held in both neighbouring Sialkot and Narowal districts on December 03,2015, the EC Sialkot officials added.