MPs (Former PMs call on President Zardari)

September 4, 2013 Off By Web Desk

Islamabad: Former Prime Ministers Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani , Raja Pervez Ashraf and a group of ex parliamentarians from Punjab called on President Asif Ali Zardari at the Aiwan-e-Sadr on Wednesday.

The former parliamentarians accompanying the Ex prime Ministers included among others Mr. Manzoor Ahmad Wattoo, Makhdoom Shahabuddin, Mr. Nazar Muhammad Gondal, Mr. Raja Riaz, Rana Farooq Ahmad, Mr. Qamar Zaman Kaira , Sardar M. Latif Khan Khosa , Mr. Imtiaz Safdar Warraich, and Ms Mehreen Anwar Raja. Mr. A. Rehman Malik, Senator Dr. Jahangir Badar, Spokesperson to the President Senator Farhatullah Babar, Ms Rukhsana Bangash and Ms Fouzia Habib were also present during the meeting.

Spokesperson to the President Senator Farhatullah Babar said that the participants of the meeting congratulated the President for successfully completing his five years tenure as President and lauded his efforts for strengthening democracy and democratic institutions in the country.

The President said that we will continue working for democracy, supremacy of the Parliament and the uplift of the people of the country. He said that the ongoing smooth and peaceful transition of powers from one democracy to the other shows the maturity of democracy and development of democratic norms and culture in the country and termed it a great victory of the democracy loving people.