Niger, Tunisia elected non-permanent members of UN Security Council

June 9, 2019 Off By Web Desk

New York The United Nations General Assembly on Friday elected Niger, Tunisia, Estonia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Vietnam as non-permanent members of UN Security Council, which will serve a two-year term starting from 1 January 2020.

The five seats available for election according to the regular distribution among regions were two seats for the African Group, one seat for the Asia-Pacific Group, one seat for the Latin American and Caribbean Group, and one seat for the Eastern European Group.

All members of the UN General Assembly attended the secret ballot, with Niger and Tunisia both received 191 votes in favor, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 185 and Vietnam 192, while Estonia beat Romania 132-58 to get the seat for Eastern European Group.

The new members will replace the retiring members of Kuwait, Peru, Poland, Cote d’Ivoire and Equatorial Guinea.

The 15-member Security Council has five permanent members � Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States, and 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the UN General Assembly.

Source: International Islamic News Agency