Politics: Candidate for caretaker PM should be impartial, no political affiliation: Committee agreed

March 20, 2013 Off By Web Desk

Islamabad: The Parliamentary Committee for appointment of caretaker Prime Minister on Wednesday agreed that candidate for the slot should be impartial‚ man of integrity‚ has administrative experience‚ no political affiliation and enjoys good reputation.

Talking to media persons after the meeting‚ its members Syed Khurshid Shah‚ Sardar Mehtab Khan Abbasi and Farooq H. Naek said that in today’s meeting names of two candidates came under discussion. They are retired Justice Mir Hazar Khan Khoso and Rasool Bakhsh Paleejo. Merits of other candidates would come under discussion in the meeting of the Committee today Thursday.

Syed Khurshid Shah said that the Committee framed its rules which provide that its quorum will be 5 members and decision will be taken with two-third majority of 6 members.

He said that Chairman of the Committee would be on rotational basis. Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour was elected Chairman for Wednesday meeting while today Thursday the Chairman would be from opposition side.

Former Law Minister Farooq H. Naek said the Parliamentary Committee‚ in its first meeting held serious deliberation on the issue of appointment of caretaker Prime Minister.

He said the Committee is considering the two names proposed by the Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition for the purpose and it does not have any power to propose any other name.

Farooq Naek said that the committee is trying its level best to evolve consensus on any of the two names for appointment as caretaker Prime Minister. However‚ if it does not succeed‚ the same two names will be forwarded to the Election Commission‚ which will have a 2day time to decide the matter.

Sardar Mehtab Abbasi informed the media that the committee deliberated on what fundamental characteristics should be possessed by the caretaker prime minister. “He should be impartial, intelligent, have administrative experience, no association with political party and should have a good standing in the country.”

Abbasi hoped that there would be a consensus but pointed that the caretaker prime minister could also be appointed with a 62 majority in the committee.

The committee is tasked with appointing the care taker prime minister in three days or else the matter would be sent to the Election Commission of Pakistan. The government has nominated Dr Ishrat Husain and Justice retd Mir Hazar Khan Khoso, while the PMLN has finalized the names of Justice retd Nasir Aslam Zahid and Rasool Bux Palijo for the post of caretaker prime minister.

The Committee comprises Syed Khurshid Ahmad Shah‚ Ex-MNA‚ Haji Ghulam Ahmed Bilour‚ Ex-MNA‚ Senator Farooq H. Naek‚ Senator Ch. Shujaat Hussain‚ Sardar Mehtab Ahmed Khan‚ Ex-MNA‚ Senator Pervaiz Rasheed‚ Khawaja Saad Rafiq‚ Ex-MNA and Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan Nasar‚ Ex-MNA.