SA minus 10 members meeting tomorrow amid rigging reports

May 28, 2013 Off By Web Desk

KARACHI: After conduction of general elections 2013 on May 11 amid rigging reports across the country, Sindh Assembly minus 10 members is holding its first session on Wednesday tomorrow, May 29 wherein newly elected representatives will take oath as Members of Provincial Assembly MPAs.

The assembly session has been convened by Sindh Government Dr Ishratul Ibad Khan after Election Commission of Pakistan issued a gazette notification of successfully elected MPAs. It is mandatory under the Constitution of Pakistan to summon the session within 21 days after issuance of gazette notification of winning candidates.

On the first day of PA session, oath will be administered to MPA-elect and on the second day, nomination papers will be filed for speaker and deputy speaker slots. The present speaker will administer oath to newly elected speaker who will later take oath of the office from deputy speaker. On third day of the session, assembly members will elect leader of the house.

Sindh Assembly has a total of 130 general seats, but during its first session, it will be without 10 members because ECP has announced repolling at four PS seats of Sindh that include PS62 Tharparkar-III, PS63 Tharparkar-IV, PS17 Kashmore-I and PS128 Karachi on June 01.

According to an ECP notification, repolling will be held at four polling stations No 162,261,272 and 275 of NA229 Tharparkar-I and 43 polling stations, No 102, 103, 104, 108,88,109, 110,120,34,40,46,39,42,58,46,183,203,173,192, 169, 175,160,157,172,156,171,191,180,131,151,184,143,144,182,129, 187,158, 161,210,181,154.126 and 170 of NA230 Tharparkar-II and its corresponding Provincial Assembly constituencies PS62 Tharparkar-III and PS63 Tharparkar-IV,

Revoting will also be held at three polling stations of PS17 Kashmore I. The poll rigging reports have emerged from this constituency. Repolling will be held at six polling stations of PS128 Karachi-XL comprising main areas of Quaidabad on June 01, 2013.

The SHC has stayed notification of PS14 Jacobabad-II, PS21 Naushehro Feroz111 and PS85 Thatta-I amid poll rigging and other complaints, while election proceedings have been by ECP terminated Under Section 18 Of the Representation of the People Act, 1976 due to death of two contesting candidates each at PS95 Karachi-VI and PS64 Mirpurkhas-I.

Furthermore, Supreme Court of Pakistan ordered in CP No. 235K of 2013 vide Judgment dated 17.5.2013 and directed the ECP to hold fresh election at PS81 Sanghar-cum-Mirpurkhas-II old Sanghar-IV.