Apple Finally Confirms Android Ports for iPhones

After months of endless speculation and announcements from third parties, Apple has finally acknowledged that it will indeed be switching its iPhones to USB C soon. The company has given its most direct confirmation that the news is true following the mandate from the European Union.

For those unaware, the European Union has passed a new law that forces Apple to sell all iPhones in its member countries with a USB C port, a connector that is already present on a multitude of devices from other OEMs including mobiles phones, laptops, tablets, and more.

The Wall Street Journal asked Apple’s VP of worldwide marketing, Greg Joswiak, about whether they are planning to replace Lightning ports, to which he replied “Obviously, we’ll have to comply; we have no choice.”

The question was brought up during the WSJ’s Tech Live conference with Joswiak and Apple’s software VP Craig Federighi. The Apple officials were asked when we can expect to see USB C on iPhones to which they replied “the Europeans are the ones dictating timing for European customers.”

Since the current law dictates that the change should happen by “autumn 2024”, it is possible that we may not see it on iPhones until that year, but there is no confirmation from Apple on this matter. Note that he also says “for European customers”, which may be a hint that only European iPhones will switch over to USB C.

Joswiak also made it clear that Apple is not happy about being forced into USB C by law. He said that Apple has always preferred to go its own way and trusts its engineers rather than being forced to adopt hardware standards by lawmakers.

He brought up other arguments as well such as the potential increase of e-waste from switching to USB C, but it was not as compelling since Lightning cables also need to be replaced every few years.

Source: Pro Pakistani

IT Ministry to Re-Advertises NITB Executive Director Post

The appointment of Executive Director (ED) National Information Technology Board (NITB) has taken a new twist as the Ministry of Information Technology and Telecommunication (MoITT) has decided to re-advertise the post for the appointment under the NITB Act.

Sources told ProPakistani that after Dr. Sohail Munir’s refusal to assume the charge of ED NITB, the MoITT has decided to start the process of appointment of new ED afresh under the NITB Act. Earlier, it was looking to resend the summary to the federal cabinet for the approval of the second name finalized by the interview panel.

On 4th August 2022, the federal cabinet approved the appointment of Dr. Sohail Munir as ED, after which the ministry had issued an offer letter to him. However, Dr. Munir refused to join and has officially informed the ministry of his unavailability owing to a job in a foreign country.

The post of ED NITB (MP-1 Scale) is vacant for approximately 16 months. At present, Additional Secretary MoITT Ayesha Humira has the additional charge of the post of ED NITB. Similarly, the post of Director General (DG) Admin NITB, (MP-2 Scale) is also vacant for the last four months.

It is pertinent to mention here that the NITB bill was approved by President Dr. Arif Alvi on 14th August 2022.


Source: Pro Pakistan

Over 850 teams working to restore, maintain telecom services: PTA

Pakistan Telecommunication Authority (PTA) has said that over 850 teams were working round the clock to restore and maintain telecom services nationwide.

According to statement by PTA, the relentless efforts and telecom operators to restore connectivity in flood-affected areas have resulted in further reduction of non-functional sites across the country.

Moreover, optical fiber backhaul to provide nationwide connectivity has been fully restored.

Source: Radio Pakistan

Info Minister terms Imran’s tenure as dark chapter of Pakistan’s media history

Minister for Information and Broadcasting Marriyum Aurangzeb says media faced unprecedented gags during last regime of Imran Khan and now he is misleading the nation in the name media freedom.

Talking to media in Islamabad on Thursday, she said journalists’ organizations condemned actions of Imran Khan’s government against media. She said these organizations termed Imran Khan as press freedom predator.

She said journalists like Absar Alam, Matiullah Jan, Asad Toor, Nusrat Javed, Ghareeda Farooqui, Asma Shirazi, Amber Shamsi, Talat Hussain, Iftikhar Ahmed, Najam Sethi, Murtaza Solangi and Dr. Danish were banned during PTI’s government.

The Minister said PTI government tried to introduce a black law ‘Media Regulatory Authority’ to curb the freedom of speech.

She said PTI government used National Accountability Bureau for political victimization.

She said Imran Khan should present himself in Election Commission of Pakistan in foreign funding case.

Source: Radio Pakistan